Even more Pavarotti sadness

Pavarotti sang of course more than one sad aria in his career. After all, he did sing opera! After a Twitter discussion with one of my followers and some soul-searching of my own, I give you even four more sad Pavarotti pieces. Hold on to your handkerchiefs.

The first one is “Addio alla madre” from the Mascagni opera Cavalleria Rusticana. Dear mummy! I’ve fooled around with one man’s woman (let’s call her woman no. 2). Her husband is furious! Please take care of my sweetheart (let’s call her woman no. 1) if everything goes terribly wrong when I meet the husband of woman no. 2! Farewell, mummy!

The second one is “Vesti la giubba” from the Leoncavallo opera Pagliacci. I’m a clown who smiles on the outside but cries on the inside. The clown costume covers my heartbreak and despair.

The third one is the final scene from the Puccini opera La Bohème. My previous girl friend has come home to my apartment. She’s very ill and then she dies surrounded with all our friends. What a way to get closure after a breakup!

The fourth and last one is the Beethoven song “In questa tomba oscura”. The title translates to “In this dark grave”, so it’s basically no way back here. What a way to get closure! Literally closed down in a grave.

Feeling sad? You asked for it! Well, sometimes you’ll have to feel bitterness and pain before you can enjoy sweetness and bliss! Or to paraphrase: Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know when it’s going to suck!

*

*

*

One comment

Comments are closed.