I don’t know what to think about this Pavarotti video …

I don’t know what to think about this Pavarotti video! I guess it’s made with affection and love for Big Luciano, but for me at the moment it’s more frommage than hommage to the great Pavarotti! And who in the world is Giorgia Fumanti?

That might change. I may come to love it. I may come to hate it. For now let’s say I’m undecided walking towards mild hate, but on the other hand I must admit I like it just a bit because it’s Nessun dorma. Conclusion: I don’t know!

What do you think? Love it? Hate it? Good taste? Bad taste? Watch the video and discuss among yourselves! Please send me your opinions!

12 comments

  1. I like the voices together, and even Luciano in the mirror. But for me the swing and the man impersonating Luciano are too much.

    1. Hi Annette,
      Naturally, you are entitled to your opinion. The video was designed in this manner to bring a more contemporary approach to the song and have it discovered by a younger audience as well, in particular to people not fond of pure classical music or full operas. We all know that Nessun Dorma is probably the most popular song in the world with regards to songs or arias coming out of operas. Luciano himself has done duets of this song with pop and rock artists, whose voices are at times, mediocre at best, with the same intention to reach a more contemporary audience.
      Of course Giorgia has ultimate and full respect for Pavarotti and the song itself. she is Italian, studied voice at the highly prestigious Conservatory of Parma. However, she has chosen for the moment to pursue a classical crossover career.
      I suggest you listen to some of her music at http://www.giorgiafumanti.com that goes beyond this duet. Thank you.

    2. I also suggest you go to You Tube and search for Giorgia Fumanti and view this same duet in a concert situation.For your convenience, I attached the link.

  2. I think you should all learn a little more about Giorgia Fumanti and her career. You can check out her site at http://www.giorgiafumanti.com
    Giorgia has performed this virtual duet in live concert situations many times in many countries and it is always a hit….she has a fabulous voice and this duet is simply another great version of Nessun Dorma with the great Luciano Pavarotti. Their voices blend fantastically together and this duet is a huge success with audiences.

    1. Thank you so much Maurice for your opinions and informations on Giorgia Fumanti! I’ve learned a lot from this! You have a strong argument when you say that Pavarotti did do many of these crossover duets himself when he was alive.

      I agree that she has a beautiful voice, but I’m not quite ready for a woman singing “Nessun dorma”, yet. I’m sorry! I’ll guess I’ll have to work on that! 🙂

      I agree with Annette that the swing and the man impersonating Luciano are too much. But that might be just me … and Annette! 🙂

      For those who love this video more than I do: Let’s agree to disagree! And that making virtual duet videos is a risky business! 😉

      1. Yes, we are all entitled to opinions. Are you aware that many female classical crossover singers, including very famous ones, have recorded Nessun Dorma and also perform it live? I am not sure if you are all very strong classical and opera purists but this is not a first for a woman to sing this amazing song. A great song is a great song and who says that it is limited only to men? Women with great voices can also sing this song and do an amzing job, manytimes better than some tenors. I recommend you do some research on You Tube and you will find many women singing Nessun Dorma, either solo or as duets. You should be more open and judge the talent of interpretation rather than saying simply it is a song for tenors…this was true for the opera and the manner it was written because at that time, women were not even considered and always subject to men. Times have changed and women are able to do whatever…this is coming from a man…I am not a woman’s rights activist but in support of all great talent,not just women. Pavarotti was an amazing tenor and only because of his will to take this to a more contemporary and pop world is the reason he became world famous…with the 3 tenors, with Pavarotti and Friends etc….

      2. I do agree with you that women and men can sing whatever they want, including “Nessun dorma”, but because I’m used to Pavarotti singing it so well, I’m not quite ready for a woman singing it to be my favorite, yet. I feel quite open minded, and I’m all for total diversity in the music world, but that doesn’t mean that I like everything that I’m open minded about! I still have my favorites and dislikes. I didn’t know that there were many more women out there singing it, so thank you for that info as well, Maurice!

      3. Here are some famous singers, all female, that have sung Nessun Dorma:
        Sarah Brightman, in addition, she also performed this in duet with Luciano Pavarotti, so Luciano himself has given the blessing that this song can be performed by women.

        The very young star soprano, Jackie Evancho. The UK brit star mezzo Katherine Jenkins, the pop r&b star Aretha Franklin, Deanna Durbin and of course Giorgia Fumanti….and many,many more…the days that this song is only for men is over….this song can be sung by anyone and should be sung by anyone that will render it justice. Even Lucianon himself agreed on this.

        All I am asking is that you keep an open mind and move into the 21st century…of course, there are many women and men that sing this song horribly but many sing it beautifully.It is about the performance and not whether it is a man or woman singing it.

  3. well, well, well…. For my taste, the video itself is a bit cheesy. I like the singing however 🙂

    When it comes to Giorgia Furmanti, according to Wikipedia she has sold more than 1,2 million copies of her albums (“operatic pop”). According to her own website (http://www.giorgiafumanti.com/blog.html) she is currently “after a beautiful summer and a very busy autumn full of travel and concerts in Italy, China, Taiwan and Quebec, Canada back to herself” and “ready to leave again for another travel and following the directions of the Universe”. Good for her! 🙂

    1. Thanks for commenting! I agree, the video is quite cheesy. It’s too “over the top”! Her singing is better, but there are so many out there now singing “operatic pop” they all sound almost the same. Thanks for your “Giorgia Furmanti research”. Now we all know who she is! 🙂

Comments are closed.