Pavarotti in Berlin (7): My big Berlin trip is approaching!

My big Berlin trip is approaching. I’ve already presented my Pavarotti related Berlin preparations. Now it’s time to look at how the Italians have put a mark on Berlin.

I’m now reading a wonderful book called “Italien in Berlin” by Gianluca Falanga (Berlin: be.bra verlag, 2006), about the Italian influence on Berlin. It’s in German, but I’m managing quite well!

Haven’t found anything about Pavarotti in this book so far, but the Italian conductor Claudio Abbado is mentioned as one of the prominent Berlin-Italians.

Claudio Abbado was principal conductor for the Berlin Philharmonic (Berliner Philarmoniker) for 1989 – 2002, and one of Pavarotti’s many conductors.

This book is highly recommended if you, like me, want to discover more about the Italian culture in Berlin. The book can also be used as a guidebook as it has a long list of addresses you’ll just have to visit when you’re in Berlin!

Today’s first four videos are Italian pop songs about Berlin! The last two videos are classic German pop songs about Berlin!

And that’s my friends is how you prepare a little visit to Berlin!

*

*

*

*

*