Tenor vs. countertenor: Che farò senza Euridice

My mad love affair with the countertenor voice continues, in spite of the fact that I’m a tenor man. So lets compare the tenor voice with the countertenor voice!

Here is the same aria sung twice. First by a tenor, then by a countertenor. The aria is “Che farò senza Euridice” from Gluck’s Orfeo e Euridice.

The tenor is Luciano Pavarotti (of course!) and the countertenor is the wonderful German Andreas Scholl. Only the best in the business!

The great Pavarotti is accompanied on piano, while Scholl is accompanied by a full orchestra. Pavarotti recorded this aria with full orchestra for his Mattinata studio album, but I haven’t managed to find it on YouTube.

Which version do you like best? Tenor or countertenor? Is it possible to like them both? I think so!

*

*

Read more about my writings on countertenors here!

This post was originally published 12-11-2012 as “Tenor vs. countertenor”. Last revision 07-02-2014.

