Have yourself a very baroque Christmas!

If you’re a music lover there’s no time like Christmas time. Before and during Christmas there is music all over. On the radio, on tv, on your computer, and on all the various devices you own.

And there are concerts in schools, churches, concert halls, and in the streets. There are concerts with popular Christmas songs and there are concerts with a more traditional or classical repertoire. Musically it’s quite clear that Christmas can be a very good time!

I attended two Christmas concerts this year, both with baroque music. I love baroque Christmas music!

uranienborg-church-oslo

The first concert was a performance of the Handel Messiah in the Uranienborg church in Oslo (picture above). It was an absolutely wonderful concert! The best Norwegian baroque orchestra, Barokkanerne (“The baroque people”), the local church choir and the four soloists were all great.

I must admit I travelled to Oslo first and foremost because my favorite countertenor was one of the soloists! The Australian countertenor David Hansen sang the alto part gloriously! Especially the aria “He was despised” was beautifully sung. Hear David sing this aria in the video below.

Later that same week I attended a Christmas concert in the local church in my home town Hamar. The concert was performed by local forces. The programme at this concert was: Vivaldi: Gloria (RV 589), Bach: Cantata no. 63, ”Christen, ätzet diesen Tag” (BWV 63), and two Christmas carols.

That concert really got me into the Christmas spirit! It’s so wonderful to have so talented musicians and singers in our community! Imagine this: In one week I heard in concerts works by all the three great baroque composers: Handel, Vivaldi and Bach! Lucky me!

So now I’m so ready for Christmas and more good music! But for now I wish you all a very baroque Christmas!

I leave you with good performances of Vivaldi’s Gloria and the Bach’s Cantata no. 63! Enjoy!

*

This post was originally published 16-12-2012. Last revision 16-12-2012.