Pavarotti arias A-Z: J for “Jacopo’s cabaletta”

My series of posts with Pavarotti arias A-Z continues. Let’s go!

Today is the letter J and I’m in trouble again! I haven’t found any Pavarotti aria that begins with J. This is probably because the letter J isn’t part of the Italian alphabet. It’s only used for loanwords and foreign names, but also in native names on rare occasions, such as the first name Jacopo.

Talking about Italian guys with the name Jacopo: Pavarotti recorded a beautiful aria once with the title “Sì lo sento, Iddio mi chiama” from the Verdi opera I due Foscari. This aria is also called “Cabaletta di Jacopo”, or “Jacopo’s cabaletta”. This is a fantastic aria, and of course it’s one of my favourite Pavarotti opera arias!

Problem solved! Here is Pavarotti in the aria for the letter J: “Jacopo’s cabaletta”!🙂

The recording is taken from a studio album of Pavarotti singing rare Verdi arias which is available, among others, on CD as “Pavarotti Premieres” (Sony Classical) or “Giuseppe Verdi Rarities” (Warner Classics). This album has been available on many labels and formats since its first release on LP in the early 1980’s. This is the only studio album Pavarotti recorded in addition to his 12 Decca studio albums.

Guess what! Look out for a new aria tomorrow! I’m still very optimistic!🙂

This post was first published 28-04-2015. Last revised 28-04-2015.

One comment

  1. The Italian lyrics of the wonderful aria “Sì lo sento Iddio mi chiama” is as follows:

    Sì lo sento, Iddio mi chiama
    de’ mal miei alfin pietoso
    quest’ingrata a chi più l’ama
    un sospir, un sospir non mi darà.
    Cara donna, figli amati
    voi perdete padre e sposo
    ma sottrarvi a que’ spietati
    più che in terra in ciel potrà.

    ***

    The English translation of the title of this aria is “Yes, I hear God calling me”.

    The English translation of the lyrics is as follows:

    Yes, I hear God calling me,
    taking pity at last on my woes.
    The ingrate whom he loves more
    will not sigh for me, for me.
    Dear wife, beloved children,
    husband and father you will lose,
    but he will be better able in heaven than on earth
    to save you from those pitiless men.

Comments are closed.